Meera Sanyal, Mayank Gandhi in AAP’s first list of LS candidates

By on February 6, 2014
The Aam Aadmi Party has announced its first list of probable candidates from Maharashtra for the Lok Sabha elections. Some of the big names to figure on the list include former CEO of Royal Bank of Scotland Meera Sanyal and Mumbai-based Aam Aadmi Party activist Mayank Gandhi. The list was released late last night. Sanyal, who joined AAP recently and is also a part of the party’s recently formed committee on economic policy, has been named as probable candidate from Mumbai South constituency. She contested from the same constituency in 2009 as an independent and lost to the Congress’s Milind Deora. AAP member Mayank Gandhi has been declared as possible candidate from North-west Mumbai. Of the 48 Parliamentary seats in Maharashtra, the party has released the names of probable candidates from Mumbai, Nagpur, Thane, Pune and Nashik. For now, the party has only released names from the urban areas. As far as rural support is concerned, the party seems confident and in an earlier conversation with us, Gandhi had said, “The support in rural Maharashtra has been tremendous. I myself was surprised by the kind of support our meetings have got.”
Vijay Pandhare, a former chief engineer with the Maharashtra government, has been named as probable candidate from Nashik. Pandhare is the original whistle-blower in Maharashtra’s irrigation scam, having written letters to Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan and Governor K Sankaranarayanan in February and then in May 2012 seeking a CBI probe into inflated cost estimates and other serious irregularities in dam-building contracts in the state. Deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar had to resign briefly over the allegations, following which Pandhare was provided police protection. Of the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, the party released the names of probable candidates for six seats, although surprisingly it does not include the names of any senior leaders. It is yet to declare any name from North-west Delhi constituency. The probable candidates in Delhi include Mohammad Mursaleen and Mohit Beniwal for Chandani Chowk seat, Dev Das Goswami and Irvinder Singh for West-Delhi seat and Mamta Sharma and Niranjan Koli from South Delhi Lok Sabha seat. It is still unclear whether Arvind Kejriwal will be contesting the Lok Sabha elections. Yesterday at a press conference to discuss the AAP government’s achievement, Kejriwal chose not to answer questions on the issue of Lok Sabha elections. Party sources said that around 65 applicants were vying for each Lok Sabha seat in Delhi.

One Comment

  1. satish naik

    February 6, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    AAP should restart taking 10 rupees as membership fees as we need funds for Loksabha/Vidhansabha elections for which fund raising committee is striving presently.

Leave a Reply

Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: